Presidents and Year of Election

James Watson, 1805
Oliver Wolcott, 1807
Amasa Jackson, 1815
Ebenezer Stevens, 1817
Lynde Catlin, 1824
Henry R. Storrs, 1834
Joseph Hoxie, 1838
Moses Grinnell, 1843
Simeon Draper, 1855
Benjamin W. Bonney, 1856
William M. Evarts, 1858
Henry A. Hurlburt, 1862
William Curtis Noyes, 1864
Edwin D. Morgan, 1865
Joseph H. Choate, 1867
Elliot C. Cowdin, 1871
Issac H. Bailey, 1873
William Borden, 1875
Daniel F. Appleton, 1877
James C. Carter, 1879
Josiah M. Fiske, 1880
Marvelle W. Cooper, 1882
Stewart L. Woodford, 1883
Horace Russell, 1885
Cornelius N. Bliss, 1887
J. Pierpont Morgan, 1889
Daniel G. Rollins, 1891
Elihu Root, 1893
Charles C. Bernan, 1895
Henry E. Howland, 1897
William E. Dodge, 1899
Edmund C. Stedman, 1901
Thomas H. Hubbard, 1903
Austin B. Fletcher, 1905
Morris K. Jesup, 1907
Seth Low, 1908
Howland Davis, 1910
A. Barton Hepburn, 1912
Francis Lynde Stetson, 1914
Edward L. Partridge, 1916
Darwin P. Kingsley, 1918
Clarence W. Bowen, 1920
Albert H. Wiggin, 1922
Lawrence F. Abbott, 1924
Irving Bacheller, 1926
Bertram H. Borden, 1928
Ruel W. Poor, 1930
Ethelbert Ide Low, 1932
Gates W. McGarrah, 1934
Joseph H. Emery, 1935
John M. Woolsey, 1937
Harry E. Ward, 1938
Alfred L. Aiken, 1939
Walter S. Gifford, 1940
Thomas D. Thatcher, 1941
F. Abbott Goodhue, 1942
Charles R. Hickox, 1943
LeRoy W. Campbell, 1944
C. King Woodbridge, 1945
Frederic S. Fleming, 1946
Harris A. Dunn, 1948
Allen S. Hubbard, 1949
Edward R. Finch, 1950
Reginald T. Townsend, 1951
Windsor C. Batchelder, 1953
Charles B. Wiggin, 1955
Edward M. Fuller, 1957
H. Ashton Dunn, 1959
Raymond F. DeVoe, 1960
Henry S. Woodbridge, 1962
Hollis K. Thayer, 1965
Ralph Hornblower, Jr., 1967
William H. Mathers, 1968
John R. Burton, 1970
John A. Morris, 1972
Richard Warner Clarke, 1973
John A.H. Carver, 1974
Walter W. Frese, 1976
Edward M. Fuller, II, 1978
Robert L. Sterling, Jr., 1980
Thomas P. Peardon, Jr., 1982
Peter R. Compton, 1984
John L. Adams, 1986
Doran A. Mullen, 1988
Kenneth A. Menken, 1990
John F. Flaherty, 1992
Thomas C. Hills, 1994
Frederick A. Parker, Jr., 1996
Cornelia H. Greenspan, 1998
George A. Doyle, Jr., 2000
C. Harvey Kelley, 2001
Arnold Hayward Neis, 2003
Alan D. R. Frese, 2005
Stuart D. Baker, 2007
J. Scott Glascock, 2009
Caroline A. Camougis, 2011
Anne Hall Elser, 2013
Jay Sherwood, 2015

Plymouth Rock Block for the President's Gavel

The block for the President’s Gavel features a small piece of Plymouth Rock that was broken off in 1859 when the foundation was laid for the canopy constructed over the rock.

The fragment is embedded in Portland cement and is framed in dark wood taken from the Harlow House built in Plymouth, MA in 1661.
The lower tier is made from timber from the Sparrow-Hawk, which sailed from London with passengers settling in Jamestown and Virginia. The ship was wrecked off the coast of Cape Cod in the winter of 1626-27 and left few survivors.

Inserted in the lower tier is a diamond-shaped piece of wood taken from the mulberry tree planted in 1530 by Cardinal Wolsey on the grounds of Scrooby Manor House in Scrooby, England. Also inlaid on the lower tier is a piece of oak taken from the ceiling of the Scrooby Manor House. The principals of the group that became known as the Pilgrims were part of the local congregation near Scrooby, where the Manor House was owned by the Archbishops of York. In the late 16th century, it was occupied by the Archbishop’s bailiff, William Brewster. His son, also named William Brewster, sailed to New England on the Mayflower and became one of the Pilgrim Fathers.

The Rock was polished by Bowker & Torrey of Boston, and the woodwork was made by Miles Standish Weston of Plymouth, MA. The work was completed on December 3, 1906.